Tuesday, September 11, 2007

Tottenham Hotspur Football Club

Tottenham Hotspur Football Club
White Hart Lane, Bill Nicholson Way, 748 High Road, Tottenham, N17 0AP
Tel: 0845 671 1973
Founded: 1882 | Nickname: Spurs, Lilywhites | Ground: White Hart Lane | Capacity: 36,240


Spurs have been in the Premier League since its inception and have lit the competition up with their flamboyant style of play. With Jurgen Klinsmann and Ilie Dumitrescu, the team was built around goals, but points were harder to come by. Relegation was only narrowly avoided in 1998, but fans' relief was short lived as their next manager was a legend from hated north London rivals Arsenal - George Graham.

He quickly won the fans round with a League Cup victory in his first season - Spurs' first trophy since the Premier League began. However, it wasn't until Martin Jol took over in 2004 and started building a team for the future - firmly placing his faith in youth - that Spurs began to climb the table. The past two seasons they have only narrowly missed out on Champions League qualification.

Club Heritage

Boys from Hotspur Cricket Club and the local grammar club formed Hotspur FC in 1882. The name was changed to Tottenham Hotspur in 1884. Three years later, they played their first north London derby, but the match was called off after 15minutes "owing to darkness" - Spurs were beating Arsenal 2-1.

The club turned professional in 1885, but didn't join the football league until 1908. In the meantime, they became the only non-league team to win the FA Cup (in 1901). Spurs became perceived as a big club when Bill Nicholson took over in 1958. He won his first match 10-4 - a sign of what was to come. In his 16 years at the club Spurs won eight major trophies - becoming the first club to complete the league and cup 'double' in 1961 and the first British team to win a European competition in 1963.

Further league success eluded Spurs and, following Nicholson's retirement, they even spent a brief stint in the Second Division in 1977-78. Their ethos of playing attacking football continued though - players that wowed the White Hart Lane faithful include Ossie Ardiles, Glenn Hoddle, Paul Gascoigne and Gary Lineker.

Premier League History

1993-94 - Ossie Ardiles becomes manager
1994-95 - Ardiles sacked in September. Replaced by Gerry Francis
1997-98 - Francis replaced by Christian Gross, who re-signs Jurgen Klinsmann
1998-99 - Gross replaced by George Graham. Win the League Cup
2000-01 - Glenn Hoddle replaces Graham in April. ENIC complete takeover with Daniel Levy becoming chairman
2003-04 - David Pleat replaces Hoddle in September
2004-05 - Jacques Santini becomes head coach, but quits after just 13 matches. Replaced by Martin Jol
2007-08 - Sign Darren Bent for club record £16.5million from Charlton

No comments: